Read this this morning  a very well written piece....

"When life is a misery, you give your patients something," my 100-year-old mother, Aileen Breslin, told me in December, as she lay in her hospital bed, suffering intolerable physical and mental pain.

"Why can't you do the same for me?" She was absolutely right. When a life is no longer worth living, I bring that life to a painless end. I'm legally permitted to do because I'm a veterinarian - and the life I am ending is that of anything other than a human.

But now, as of last week, if you live in Canada, as my mother did, and thanks to the Canadian Supreme Court's resounding 9-0 judgment, people in her circumstances will be allowed to ask their physicians to help end their misery too. I can't help wondering if we should have the same right elsewhere.

Let me give you a little background to the circumstances I found myself in two months ago. Mum was a warm, articulate, instinctively intelligent and exasperatingly wordy woman.

We ended up living thousands of miles apart, Mum in Toronto, me in London. Our telephone conversations never lasted less than 45 minutes. "She should teach breath control at Rada," my actress wife Julia once said.

Mum's phone calls were stream-of-consciousness monologues. Once her mouth left the runway, no one had a chance to interject. She was exasperating. She was a handful. Yet what she had to say was always lucid and sensible. "Bruce, are you telling your children you love them?" She never lost her exquisitely tuned emotional intelligence.

My parents were married for 67 years. Dad, a man of natural majesty and few words, could make or repair anything. He built our family's summer cottage on Lake Chemong in Peterborough, Ontario, drilling the well, laying the foundation, hammering every length of lumber. My son, writer and broadcaster Ben Fogle, says it was his summers at the lake that introduced him to the joy of the outdoors.