I am a certified Aqua Fitness instructor and have been teaching for a few years. I specialize in those with health problems as well as those needing to lose weight. I have read some of the post here and thought I would add a few words. You dont need to know how to swim to do Aqua Fitness. You will loose twice as many calories in half the amount of time in water than on land. Water will take off up to 90% of your weight, depending how far up it comes to the chest. There is little to no impact on joints and spine and even less chance for injury. Before you commit to a progam you must realize a few things. In order to lose weight or even to improve mobility, you must commit to a program that will put you in the water three times a week. Three times a week is the least amount of time. Of course the more you go the better you will be. I teach a bootcamp course that is three times a week. In six weeks in my weight loss classes, my ladies average a loss of one dress size. Remember after six weeks in any exercise plan you must adjust it. It takes that long for your body to reach that fitness level and to continue to improve you must up your game. Most of all, be realistic. Take baby steps and dont expect a lifetime of doing nothing to be undone in a month.
Laurie
Thanks for the valuable information Laurie!  *hugs*
Thank you Lady L.....aguafit is my favourite exercise ...you re so right on all counts , it worked for me . I will add to what you say ... that agua fitness strengthened the muscles around my spine healed my hip pain ( after a few months ) AND gives a huge sense of well being , suppleness and lifts the spirit ....good for mind , body and spirit !
I feel to chubby and busty to do aqua fitness currently, trying to  drop 20lbs 1st... :?